poutine

February 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

I just stumbled upon the photographs we took that time we made poutine from scratch. It’s a really happy memory of mine. We were hosting a French Canadian person from Couchsurfing, and we decided it would be fun to make her some good ol’  poutine from scratch.

I really mean from scratch. They just don’t make poutine this way anymore, folks. It was so silly! First Xin got the gravy started:  a vegetarian gravy with flour, butter, onions, and other similarly healthful ingredients. Then she chopped up and fried potatoes. Okay, I guess it would be more accurate to say Xin made poutine from scratch–I mostly just watched in amazement.Then she made farmer’s cheese. Yes, she made the cheese on the spot for the poutine by curdling milk with lemon juice.  Assembled and voila, homemade vegetarian poutine!

It was super delicious, if I do say so myself. I don’t have any point of reference for comparison, since I had never tried poutine before. Zoe, our guest, gave it two greasy thumbs up (ew), but she did mention that the cheese in traditional poutine is more melted. I have never found farmer’s cheese to melt very well. I bet most restaurants these days use processed cheese that melts better. Anyway, here are some pictures!

Cindy works her gravy magic.

The fries get fryin'.

Zoe cheerfully displays the poutine.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading poutine at Messmates.

meta

