eggplant with honey

April 26, 2011 § Leave a comment

During Semana Santa, I traveled around Andalucia and tried a bunch of delicious food. One of my favorites was a typical Andalucian dish called berenjenas con miel (eggplant with honey). I tried it first in Sevilla and then in Cordoba. They were very similar, just deep fried, salted eggplant with honey drizzled on top.

Below is a photo of the dish I tried in Sevilla. As you can see, the eggplant was sliced and lightly breaded.

In Cordoba, the eggplant was cut into sticks like steak fries and much more breaded.

I preferred the first version. I think eggplant always tastes better when it’s more thinly sliced. Sometimes the big pieces taste bitter or uncooked to me.

As soon as I got home, I was determined to make them myself. One of my favorite parts about traveling and trying new foods is trying to recreate them.  The recipe is very simple. Cut the eggplant however you want; I recommend cutting it in super thin slices. Soak them for about an hour in salty water (they say this makes it less bitter, but I don’t know if it really makes a difference). Dip them in breading, fry, drizzle with honey, sprinkle with salt, and voila!

Since I don’t like eggs, I just added a bit of water to breadcrumbs and spread it on the slices. As expected, the breading didn’t stick very well. They still turned out delicious, though. Then I tried a second batch with no breading at all. It was also delicious! I also used less oil that time. I found that the very thin pieces still had a satisfying crisp without all the oil and breading. Just make sure to fry both sides until they are golden brown. Here’s a picture of the second batch.

Mmm! You all should definitely try this out, especially you sweet-and-salty lovers. It’s super simple, easy to make, and delicious!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading eggplant with honey at Messmates.

meta

