escarole salad

April 30, 2011 § Leave a comment

My mom always uses iceberg and romaine lettuce in her salads. I’m pretty sure the first time I tried escarole was here in Spain, at my friend’s parents’ house in Valencia. I loved it! It has a pretty strong, warm flavor. It is also rather bitter, so it goes nicely with sweet ingredients or mixed with milder greens–in this simple salad, I paired it with artichoke hearts, orange, and honey.

Ingredients

a bowl of escarole, rinsed and chopped

5 artichoke hearts, quartered

2 medium oranges, peeled and cut into small pieces

juice of 1 lemon

2 tbs olive oil

2 tsp honey

1 tsp sweet paprika

salt, to taste

I didn’t really measure my ingredients, so I’m just estimating here. Add more orange or artichoke if you want. Adjust the ingredients to taste and to the quantity of salad.

Make sure the leaves are nice and dry before adding the other ingredients. Salad is so much better when you let the leaves dry. The dressing sticks better and it doesn’t get as soggy. Add artichoke hearts and orange pieces. Mix lemon juice, honey, salt, sweet paprika, and olive oil in a separate cup. Pour the dressing over the salad and serve.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading escarole salad at Messmates.

meta

